acro_buildingThe ACRO Practice Accreditation Program recently awarded the Tammy Walker Cancer Center Department of Radiation Oncology at Salina Regional Health Center a full three-year re-accreditation. This accolade was awarded following months of intensive review by a nationwide team of ACRO-designated board certified Radiation Oncologists and Radiation Physicists. The radiation oncology program at the Tammy Walker Cancer Center is the only one in Kansas to have achieved this honor, first achieved in 2009.

The major objective of the Practice Accreditation Program of the American College of Radiation Oncology is to review practice entities to ascertain that their facilities, equipment, staffing, policies and procedures, and treatment methods meet top quality nationally published standards for radiation oncology. The review consisted of an extensive off-site analysis of physical and clinical data as well as a critical review of actual patient records selected at random. In addition, an intensive on-site visit was conducted last summer. The data collected was entered into the ACRO national radiation oncology database and examined in light of multiple nationally accepted standards of current radiation oncology practice.

The Tammy Walker Cancer Center Department of Radiation Oncology is the only ACRO-accredited practice in the entire state of Kansas, as well as the states of Oklahoma and Colorado. Dr. Claudia Perez-Tamayo and her staff at the Tammy Walker are proud of their accomplishment but most importantly, they are proud of their ability and desire to provide top quality medical care, as evidenced by this voluntary peer review process.


“This validates the quality of care we’ve always worked hard to provide our patients,” said Claudia Perez-Tamayo, M.D., medical director for the program. “An ACRO accreditation makes it very plain to consumers that safe, appropriate care is available at the Tammy Walker Cancer Center and raises the bar for radiation oncology practice in the region.”

For more information about the ACRO Practice Accreditation Program:

Claudia Perez-Tamayo, MD, FACR, FACRO pictured on far right